For healthcare professionals involved in dementia care.

Dementia Care Professional of the Year

What is Dementia Care Professional of the Year

In any industry there are those professionals who simply shine—people with creativity, passion and determination. The dementia community is fortunate to have these professionals as well. DCPA aims to identify exceptional individuals serving the dementia community and to celebrate their accomplishments by presenting the Dementia Care Professional of the Year Award. These are the people who are making a difference in their community, the individuals who are changing the field of practice for the better, and the ones who are willing to go above and beyond for clients in need. They define care, compassion and commitment.

DCPA_2colorDementia Care Professional of the Year
2016 Nomination Period Is Open – Deadline October 15, 2016

Since 2007, the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America has recognized and awarded leaders working with individuals living with dementia as Dementia Care Professionals of the Year. Each year, AFA bestows this award on individuals who have demonstrated true professional excellence in care, compassionate performance above and beyond expectations, and a dedicated commitment to individuals living with dementia. These accomplishments can be recent or accumulated throughout a career of dedicated service.

The professional may be nominated by peers/colleagues, employers, clients, or clients’ families. Individuals may be nominated by more than one person. Please note that multiple nominations are welcome, but will not necessarily improve the likelihood of a candidate’s selection.

Nominees must be currently employed in a professional capacity as a provider of care or service to individuals with dementia or their families. Professionals may be from any industry or field of practice (e.g., personal care aides, activities therapists, program directors, support group leaders, administrators). Nominees must be certified as AFA Dementia Care Partners, through participation in AFA’s Partners in Care training program.

Accomplishments and success stories of any magnitude merit nomination—and are encouraged. Categories of accomplishment include, but are not limited to:

  • Achievements through overall career of service
  • Changes to the care system or field of practice
  • Development of successful models of care and intervention
  • Positive impact on colleagues or workplace
  • Positive impact on families
  • Extraordinary service to clients

A panel from the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America will review all nominations and determine the winner.

Nominations must be submitted below, and will be accepted until October 15, 2016.

Thank you for your interest in DCP of the Year, but all submissions have been closed.

*AFA and DCPA may use information provided on the nomination form for publicity purposes.  The award winner must agree to submit a photograph for publicity purposes and to be available for interviews with the media.

  • Click here  to read about the 2015 award winner, Teryn Clarke, M.D., medical director of Alzheimer’s Family Services Center in Huntington Beach, Calif., and board-certified neurologist at Hoag Neurosciences Institute in Newport Beach, Calif.
  • Click here  to read about the 2014 award winners, Lorenzo Mejia, president of Acorn Home Care in Carrboro, N.C., and Dr. Gary Steinke, associate chief of geriatrics at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center in San Jose, Calif.
  • Click here to read about the 2013 award winner, Nancy Pertl, aging services coordinator at Mental Health America of Middle Tennessee (MHAMT), Nashville, Tenn.
  • Click here to read about the 2012 award winner, Gwenn Fried, manager of the NYU Langone Medical Center Rusk Rehabilitation horticultural therapy services, New York, N.Y.
  • Click here to read about the 2011 award winner, Cordula Dick Muehlke, Ph.D., executive director of Alzheimer’s Family Services Center, Huntington Beach, Calif.
  • Click here to read about the 2010 award winner, Julie Brewer, program director of Alzheimer’s Services of the Capital Area, Baton Rouge, La.
  • Click here to read about the 2009 award winner, Karen Bridges, coordinator of an adult day center in Shelby, N.C.
  • Click here to read about the 2008 award winner, Madaleine Lippert, an educational consultant and support group facilitator in Ferndale, Wash.
  • Click here to read about the 2007 award winner, Cynthia Heafy of the Coral Springs (Fla.) Police Department.